Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter

Naga Legislative Assembly and its Speakers

  • Image 1
Rs. 495.00
0.00 KGS
Calculated at checkout
Bookmark and Share

About the Book

The Naga Legislature emerged only in 1964 when the politics of Nagaland was on hot-bed due to armed struggle between the Naga 'freedom fighters' and the Indian armed personnel. Though the Constitution of India contained democratic processes for Nagaland, these could not be given trial due to boycott of the Naga people in support of their demand for sovereignty and independence. The division in the cadre of the Naga Nationalist Council (NNC) and talks of the moderate Naga leaders with the Government of india resulted in creation of De-facto Naga Legislature in 1957, which ultimately created the favourable circumstance for creation of Nagaland State in 1963. The legislative processes began in Nagaland with the composition of the first Naga Legislature in February 1964 and it started to work for the people's development and set the state towards peace and prosperity. The involvement of the Speakers in party politics and their inclination towards the Government has created doubts and suspicion in the mind of the Opposition members. Moreover, the mushroom growth of political parties devoid of proper principles and ideologies, politics of defection and frequent formation of coalition governments and also entrance of the men of mafia groups in Legislatures have created numerous problems for the Speakers in India. The adjournment of the House sine-die due to pandemonium created by irresponsible Legislators has become the common features all over the country from Central Parliament of the State Legislatures. In case of Nagaland, it has been observed that unlimited ambition for power, prestige and wealth among the Naga politicians, has very much maligned the image of Naga politics where defection and counter-defection have freely been allowed to topple down the government for personal causes. However, it is good that The Naga Legislative Assembly in comparison to other states' Assemblies of India has been more peaceful and progressive. The office of the Speaker of Nagaland and his role has remained unexplored so far. The present work gives the answer to the questions whether the democratic processes in Nagaland have taken deep root and whether the rulings and decisions of the Speakers of Nagaland Legislative Assembly have remained satisfactory as per the expectation of the people.


Khochamo Chonzamo Murry (b. 1948) took his M.A. degree in Political Science from Gauhati University in 1973. He also obtained the degree of Ph.D from the same University in 2005. He began his career as a Lecturer in Political Science in Mount Tiyi College, Wokha. He has been the Member of the Board of Undergraduate School and also the Member of the Academic Council of NEHU. He was also appointed a Member of the Court of North Eastern Hill University (NEHU). Besides that he was the founding Member of Bailey Baptist College, Wokha, Christian Medical Centre, Vankhosung, and Member of Board of Directors, Kyong Academy, Wokha. He is a social servant and his interest in social service is very deep. He is the Life member of the Indian Red Cross Society, Nagaland Educational Society, Jagruthi Kiran Foundation, Nagpur. He has been conferred certain awards such as , Vijay Ratna award, Best Citizenship Award, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose National Award, Commendation Certificate from the Government of Nagaland, etc. for his special merit and contributions of services to the society. He has visited several foreign countries, such as Italy and Israel, etc. He had organised seminars and conferences on several occasions and taken active part in participation at national and regional level seminars.

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

India Default Currency

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Naga Legislative Assembly and its Speakers to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...